Skip to content

Laneman Named Reilly Center Fellow


The John J. Reilly Center for Science, Technology, and Values announced that J. Nicholas Laneman, Founding Director of the Wireless Institute and Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering, has been named one of its new Fellows, along with David Hernandez (Classics), Jessica Payne (Psychology), and Carter Snead (Law School). The four new Fellows represent a diverse mix of scholarship and are drawn from the College of Arts & Letters, the College of Engineering, and the Law School. The Reilly Center draws its fellows from more than 20 campus departments, centers, and institutes. This fellowship is an honor bestowed on faculty members whose research addresses the Reilly Center’s mission. Faculty fellows provide a service to the center offering their expertise should a situation arise.About the Reilly Center: The John J. Reilly Center for Science, Technology, and Values was established at the University of Notre Dame in 1985. The Reilly Center explores conceptual, ethical, and policy issues where science and technology intersect with society from different disciplinary perspectives. Its purpose is to promote the advancement of science and technology for the common good.  The center is named for the father of an alumnus whose gift created the initial endowment for the center. Its first academic initiative, an undergraduate minor Program in Science, Technology, and Values was launched in 1986 with the aid of a three-year start-up grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities. Since then the Reilly Center has received external financial support for many programs and activities from the National Science Foundation as well as the NEH. In addition, the Lilly Endowment, the Hazen Endowment for Excellence, the Templeton Foundation, and the former GTE Foundation have also generously supported the work of the center.